Barry Mackey produced another excellent performance in Tuesday night’s Loreto 5K in Letterkenny. Barry’s time of 19.36 gave him 4th place overall and first place in the M50 category. He was followed by retiring club chairman, Michael Galvin, who clocked 20.05. Michael was 2nd in the M40 category. The race winner was Dale Corbett in 18.11.
Barry was back in action again on Saturday in the 5K Memorial Classic in Derry. Barry again achieved a sub 20 minute finish, with his time of 19.56 gaining him 2nd place in the M50 category. The leading M50 runner, Jackie Doherty was just 4 seconds ahead of Barry. The overall race winner was Martin Cox in 15.57.
Several LAC runners made the short journey to Milford on Saturday  morning for the Milford 10K. The race was won by Rosses AC’s Ciaran McGonigle in 32.54 with LAC’s Danny Mooney 2nd in 33.12.
Next was Liam Doherty, whose time of 36.44 gave him 2nd place in the M40 category. Ciaran O’Donnell achieved his pre race target of sub 40 minutes with a time of 39.42. Paul Lee clocked 44.13, with Stephen Shiels just behind on 44.35. Phil Boyle came home in 46.02 and Jimmy McBride crossed the line in 46.20, which gave gave him 2nd place in the M60 category. Jimmy was closely followed by fellow LAC M60, Brendan Delap, whose time was 46.31.
Marian Kerr ran 46.57 and had a double success. She achieved a new PB  for the distance and was 3rd  in the W40 category. Shauna McGeehan finished in 47.27 and was 2nd senior woman. Cathal Roarty, after a busy summer of Triathlon action, completed the 10K in 49.25. Irene McFadden’s time was 50.21 and Niamh McDaid’s was 52.38.
Letterkenny AC’s AGM was held on Wednesday evening in the Station House Hotel. The meeting was very well attended. The following office bearers were elected:
Chairperson: Dan King.
Vice chairperson: Aidan McKenna.
Secretary: Marie Boyle.
Assistant Secretary: Shauna McGeehan.
Treasurer: Eunan Kelly.
Assistant Treasurer: Danny McDaid.
Registrar (Seniors): Darren Price.
Registrar (Juveniles): Paul Lee.
PRO (Juveniles): Tina Paige.
PRO (Seniors): Hugh Gallagher.
Captain: Raymond Birch.
Assistant Captains: Irene McFadden and Danny Mooney.
Child Protection Officer: Peter Duffy.
Assistant Child Protection Officer: Deirdre Diver.
Coaching Representative: Dara Dunne.
Neil McDaid                            Brendan McDaid
Charlotte du Plessey             Anthony Ward
Sean McFadden                     Marian Kerr
Darren McBrearty                  Aidan Smyth
Michael Galvin                        Rachael Crossan
Amanda Holian
                                  Hugh Gallagher.
                              Letterkenny AC PRO.
  • Letterkenny AC Sub 4 Mile Challenge Event

    Unable to display Facebook posts.
    Show error

    Error: Error validating application. Application has been deleted.
    Type: OAuthException
    Code: 190
    Please refer to our Error Message Reference.
  • Latest Tweets